Tomorrow, a new road is opening to me. Or should I say “roads”? That’s right – I’m gonna be getting my permit. Then I can drive anywhere (after 6 months practice and the road test)! But I’m afraid that I’ll crash into other cars and kill myself in the process. I think that I may be just a little bit too careful… Who am I kidding? I’m afraid of everything. Mostly because of the pain. Pain and I do not mix well at all. Here’s a poem by one of my most favorite poets of all time – Emily Dickinson:

Pain has an element of blank;

It cannot recollect

When it began, or if there were

A day when it was not.

It has no future but itself,

Its infinite realms contain

Its past, enlightened to perceive

New periods of pain.

That’s true; pain is only there if you feel and acknowledge it. If you don’t pay it any attention, it’s not there. If only life’s other little worries would just as easily disappear. Pain affects me greatly because I tend to over think everything. And then I over think my over thinking, which leads me into an ever greater mess. I envy those people who haven’t a care in their heads. Oh how I wish I could be like that one day. Moving on…